Upcoming Events

Past Events

Tue 07.16.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 07.16.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 07.11.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 07.10.2024 Natal Dimension with Jazsalyn
Tue 07.09.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 07.09.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 07.02.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 06.27.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 06.26.2024 Whose University? a public lecture with Anuradha Vikram
Tue 06.25.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Worker Ownership
Tue 06.25.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 06.20.2024 CTHQ Closed on June 20
Wed 06.19.2024 Community care, self care: an introductory workshop to Black feminist literature through meditative nail polishing
Tue 06.18.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 06.18.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 06.13.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 06.12.2024 Culture Push Zine Day
Tue 06.11.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 06.11.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Governing Solidarity
Thu 06.06.2024 Reiki Circle to Call In Balance
Thu 06.06.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 06.05.2024 Flowers For Freedom
Tue 06.04.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 06.04.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 05.30.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 05.29.2024 Seed Freedom: Economy of Care
Tue 05.28.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 05.28.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Grantwriting 101
Thu 05.23.2024 Twerk As a Tool for Personal Liberation
Thu 05.23.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 05.21.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 05.21.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Community Centric Fundraising
Thu 05.16.2024 Re-Rooting Our Relationship to Help: Reiki to Invite Care into our Lives
Thu 05.16.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 05.15.2024 So close to human
Tue 05.14.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 05.14.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Money Moving Coalitions
Thu 05.09.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 05.08.2024 The Metaphysics of Self-Immolation
Tue 05.07.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 05.07.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 05.02.2024 CTHQ Closed on May 2
Wed 05.01.2024 May Day: CETA
Tue 04.30.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 04.30.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 04.25.2024 Inner Harmony: Discovering Your Healing Power through Tai Chi, Qigong
Thu 04.25.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 04.24.2024 Mixed Media Mixtape: YouTube Spiral
Tue 04.23.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Fri 04.19.2024 Parallel Walk: Advancing by turning and turning
Thu 04.18.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 04.17.2024 Jungle whispers and forest echoes.
Wed 04.17.2024 Demo RSVP Event
Tue 04.16.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 04.16.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 04.11.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 04.10.2024 Rinse
Tue 04.09.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 04.09.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 04.04.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 04.03.2024 Listening Room: Night Time Drop-In Hours at CTHQ
Tue 04.02.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 04.02.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 03.28.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 03.27.2024 Mixed Media Mixtape with Umber Majeed
Tue 03.26.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 03.26.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 03.26.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Thu 03.21.2024 *Virtual* Unpacking Stress with Meditation with Dr. D
Thu 03.21.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 03.20.2024 WE REMIND YOU: An evening on HIV & Palestine
Tue 03.19.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 03.19.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Thu 03.14.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 03.13.2024 The Fight to End the 24-hour Workday: Screening of For Whom the Alarm Sounds
Tue 03.12.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 03.07.2024 *Virtual* Spiritual Journey Into Nature, A Guided Meditation with Nature-based coach Raynelle Rino
Thu 03.07.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 03.06.2024 Shroomscape Game Night with LES Ecology Center & The Interbeing Project
Tue 03.05.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 03.05.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Wed 02.28.2024 Food Mahjong Club
Tue 02.27.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Thu 02.22.2024 Tattoo Session with Mariquitx
Wed 02.21.2024 Tattoo Workshop with Mariquitx
Tue 02.20.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Thu 02.15.2024 Tattoo Session with Mariquitx
Wed 02.14.2024 Love Letters for Solidarity
Tue 02.13.2024 CTHQ Closed Tuesday, February 13th

View events from

← Back to listings

Dreams with AYDO Studio & Mudang Jenn

08.07.2024
6:00 pm–8:00 pm

This will be a gathering in two parts: a live performance, followed by and open-format conversation with the widely recognized and respected shaman and cultural worker, Mudang Jenn. We will explore Korean ancestral spiritual practices related to dream-work through meditative, ritual-based dance and open-ended communal dialogue. We will also focus on dream work through a feminist perspective, centering matriarchal voices.

 

Featuring performances by Bo Kyung lee and Luyan Lili Li.

 

AYDO (A young Yu & Nicholas Oh) is a collaborative artist duo based in New York. Through performance-based film and site-specific installation, AYDO re-imagines Korean folklore and precolonial spiritual practices to reflect personal and Asian American perspectives. They are not faithful to historical canon and transgress older traditions, regenerating them within diasporic contexts through methods of disruption and metamorphosis. Performances are filmed in spaces ranging from ritual spaces to sites of ongoing geopolitical tension, from disfigured wartime buildings and ecological sanctuaries to immersive environments constructed in the studio. They activate these spaces by distilling narratives and visual cues from their heritage and create new stories–exploring themes of race, Western imperialism, sexuality, and migration. AYDO has exhibited and performed at venues such as Cantor Art Center at Stanford University, Museum of Art and Design, Christie’s Inc, Canal Projects, Hub-Robeson Gallery at Penn State University, Elizabeth Foundation for the Arts, ChaShaMa, Artist Alliance, AHL Foundation, and Fashion Institute of Technology. AYDO was awarded artist residencies at Sculpture Space, Dongguk University, and Catwalk Institute.

 

About Cosmologyscape

This program is part of Creative Time’s public art commission Cosmologyscape by artists Alisha B Wormsley and Kite. The multimedia and participatory public art project, presented by Creative Time, is an invitation to the public to dream. Cosmologyscape seeks to harness the duality of dreams—as both individual tools of self-awareness and collective acts of imagination and world-building—and encourages the exploration of dreaming practices through an artist designed interface. How does it work? Take a nap, zone out, find your dream state. After that, visit www.cosmologyscape.com to submit your dream, and if you need help dreaming, follow a Dream Path on the website designed by a group of interdisciplinary artists. The dreams shared with Cosmologyscape will then be translated algorithmically into a pattern derived from Lakota visual language and Black quilting references, represented first in a growing digital tapestry of our collective dreams, and ultimately, into a series of sculptures unveiled in the fall, designed for further rest and dreaming.