Upcoming Events

Past Events

Tue 07.16.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 07.16.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 07.11.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 07.10.2024 Natal Dimension with Jazsalyn
Tue 07.09.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 07.09.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 07.02.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 06.27.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 06.26.2024 Whose University? a public lecture with Anuradha Vikram
Tue 06.25.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Worker Ownership
Tue 06.25.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 06.20.2024 CTHQ Closed on June 20
Wed 06.19.2024 Community care, self care: an introductory workshop to Black feminist literature through meditative nail polishing
Tue 06.18.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 06.18.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 06.13.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 06.12.2024 Culture Push Zine Day
Tue 06.11.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 06.11.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Governing Solidarity
Thu 06.06.2024 Reiki Circle to Call In Balance
Thu 06.06.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 06.05.2024 Flowers For Freedom
Tue 06.04.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 06.04.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 05.30.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 05.29.2024 Seed Freedom: Economy of Care
Tue 05.28.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 05.28.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Grantwriting 101
Thu 05.23.2024 Twerk As a Tool for Personal Liberation
Thu 05.23.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 05.21.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 05.21.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Community Centric Fundraising
Thu 05.16.2024 Re-Rooting Our Relationship to Help: Reiki to Invite Care into our Lives
Thu 05.16.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 05.15.2024 So close to human
Tue 05.14.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 05.14.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop: Money Moving Coalitions
Thu 05.09.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 05.08.2024 The Metaphysics of Self-Immolation
Tue 05.07.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 05.07.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 05.02.2024 CTHQ Closed on May 2
Wed 05.01.2024 May Day: CETA
Tue 04.30.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 04.30.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 04.25.2024 Inner Harmony: Discovering Your Healing Power through Tai Chi, Qigong
Thu 04.25.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 04.24.2024 Mixed Media Mixtape: YouTube Spiral
Tue 04.23.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Fri 04.19.2024 Parallel Walk: Advancing by turning and turning
Thu 04.18.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 04.17.2024 Jungle whispers and forest echoes.
Wed 04.17.2024 Demo RSVP Event
Tue 04.16.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 04.16.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 04.11.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 04.10.2024 Rinse
Tue 04.09.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 04.09.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 04.04.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 04.03.2024 Listening Room: Night Time Drop-In Hours at CTHQ
Tue 04.02.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 04.02.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 03.28.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 03.27.2024 Mixed Media Mixtape with Umber Majeed
Tue 03.26.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Tue 03.26.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 03.26.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Thu 03.21.2024 *Virtual* Unpacking Stress with Meditation with Dr. D
Thu 03.21.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 03.20.2024 WE REMIND YOU: An evening on HIV & Palestine
Tue 03.19.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 03.19.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Thu 03.14.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 03.13.2024 The Fight to End the 24-hour Workday: Screening of For Whom the Alarm Sounds
Tue 03.12.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Thu 03.07.2024 *Virtual* Spiritual Journey Into Nature, A Guided Meditation with Nature-based coach Raynelle Rino
Thu 03.07.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Wed 03.06.2024 Shroomscape Game Night with LES Ecology Center & The Interbeing Project
Tue 03.05.2024 CTHQ Open Hours
Tue 03.05.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Wed 02.28.2024 Food Mahjong Club
Tue 02.27.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Thu 02.22.2024 Tattoo Session with Mariquitx
Wed 02.21.2024 Tattoo Workshop with Mariquitx
Tue 02.20.2024 Office Hours with Art.coop
Thu 02.15.2024 Tattoo Session with Mariquitx
Wed 02.14.2024 Love Letters for Solidarity
Tue 02.13.2024 CTHQ Closed Tuesday, February 13th

View events from

← Back to listings

Love Letters for Solidarity

02.14.2024
6:00 pm–8:00 pm

Join us on Valentine’s Day for an evening of live music, tasty snacks, and letter writing with messages of love, solidarity and empowerment. Write letters with Black & Pink NYC, an abolitionist organization that facilitates letter writing to incarcerated LGBTQIA2S+ individuals as a harm reduction strategy. Opera singer and sound artist Ashley Grier will present music, and our space will be open for intimate reading and reflection.

 

Want to recommend texts on love and solidarity? Let us know by filling out this form, and we may add them to our library!

 

The NYC Chapter of Black & Pink formed its current iteration in February 2018. We work toward prison abolition through pen pal matching, mail processing/letter-writing, reentry support, sending solidarity packages and commissary to our inside members, and organizing with community partners in advocacy campaigns such as the opposition of 4 new jails in the boroughs.

 

Ashley Grier (She/Her) is an artist working across performance, video, and musical composition. Her work is often inspired by opera, theater, and film, drawing upon their histories and structures to investigate the possibilities of sound and movement for worldbuilding within and around the human voice and body. Improvisation is essential. Playfulness is care. Ashley has worked with many artists across disciplines and genres including Hiatus Kaiyote and choreographer Dianne McIntyre. She has performed in places such as Time Square with Time Square Arts, Performance Space New York, Roulette Intermedium, The Drawing Center, SummerStage in Central Park, Fridman Gallery, and Le Poisson Rouge, among others. Grier holds a BM from Oberlin Conservatory of Music in Vocal Performance and an MFA in Sound Art from Columbia University.